Profiles

The first piece I’m linking to is written by Lou Somogyi for Blue and Gold Illustrated about a little-known record now held by Notre Dame receiver TJ Jones. It’s not a typical profile in that it doesn’t see Jones through a story. Instead, it just focuses on his stats and the context of their importance. But I chose it because I thought it was a different way to do a profile on your beat, something other than the typical “from hero to zero” idea.

I chose a more standard profile by the Fresno Bee’s Bryant-Jon Anteola, this one about Fresno State’s freshman Jamal Ellis. It’s very typical in that it is the story of a player growing up on the field, but it stands out to me because Anteola uses game action in the text, which is something I guess I hadn’t considered doing before. He describes what Ellis did against San Diego State on a very deep level and how he improved for the game against Nevada.

Leave a reply

