Patrick Bender’s Joy for Sports

By: Melanie Watson

To most people, sports are a form of escapism from the things that occur in real life. To Patrick Bender, sports are his reality. They are part of his everyday life, what he does and who he is. He’s always been around them and they’ve always brought him happiness.

Bender recalls being introduced to sports for the first time when he was five years old. As a kid he always walked around with a ball. The Cleveland, Ohio native always went to Cleveland Indians games with his father while growing up. If he wasn’t watching sports then he was playing them – from baseball to basketball to football to tennis. It didn’t matter whether his team won or lost, sports was always a source a joy for Bender.

“I think that’s one of the best things about sports – the joy it brings people,” he said.

It’s only natural that Bender aspires to work in the sports industry. He doesn’t quite know what he wants to do specifically but he’s currently leaning towards the broadcast side. he’s already gained experience beneficial to the field such as hosting a sports talk radio show, volunteering at NewSource, the University of Georgia’s live and student-run news show, and interning for Atlanta’s 680 The Fan. He admits that he has a knack for commentating and that he loves the discussion aspect of following sports.

“I think calling NBA basketball would be an awesome job to have,” Bender said. “The job that Kevin Harlan has for TNT is my dream job. I guess that’s the direction that I want to go towards.”

Although he’s not entirely sure of what he wants to do within the sports industry, there is one thing that Patrick Bender already knows about his future. As long as he’s around sports, then he’ll be happy.

This entry was posted in Homework posts and tagged , on by .

About Miss__Melanie

Ever since I was in 6th grade I've aspired to become a sports journalist. I'm currently in college studying Journalism with an emphasis in Magazines. I love personal interest stories. I have a passion for finding out interesting things about entertainers/athletes and things that make them tick and sharing those interesting stories about them to the world. I root for athletes & stories more than teams. I also love music and feel that it complements my life. I create soundtracks for different times of my life and I highly respect artists and their creative processes. Interviews are my passion and I look to conduct several of them over the course of my life. My dream job is to be a publicist for athletes and entertainers because I love and respect them so much that I want everyone else to see them and love them the same way that I do.

One thought on “Patrick Bender’s Joy for Sports

Leave a reply

