From couch to web: How Logan Booker made sports writing a “living”

Logan Booker’s involvement in sports media started on his couch.

He’d been laid off in 2009, along with the millions of other people who lost their jobs after the recession. He was 27 and he didn’t have a college degree, so he wasn’t able to stand out in the potential employee market.

Without anything else to do, he fell back on writing, something he’d always been passionate about. He opened a blog and started ranting about University of Georgia football, commenting on all its glories and pitfalls.

“I’d read people’s blogs all the time but I’d always just commented on them,” Booker said. “It was my way of voicing my expressions, so I decided to make my blog its own so I could put my content into articles. It started as just a big time-killing hobby.”

But eventually his ramblings started to draw the eyes of many, including a better-known blogger who asked Booker to join forces with him and combine audiences. That partner later made a deal with Bulldawg Illustrated, a publication that was strictly print-based at the time, so that he and Booker could overhaul the publication’s online presence.

Suddenly Booker found himself with a larger audience than ever before, averaging 10,000 or more hits per article and gaining hundreds of Twitter follows (he stands at 3,089 followers). With access to practices and coaches, he was able not only to comment on Georgia football but to report on it. A new avenue opened up for him, one that was completely different from the job he’d lost as a copywriter for the advertising agency JWT.

Booker also decided to back to school while he worked on his first blog. And he did it so well that he got into the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication after a stint at Georgia Perimeter College, where he graduated with a 3.9 GPA and an Associate’s degree in Writing.

Now, in classrooms surrounded by people who are about 10 years his junior, he’s two years away from a Bachelor’s degree in journalism and working as a sportswriter “for a living.”

“I consider it a success story, just a little later than most people,” he said. “And by living I mean $250 a month. Rolling in the dough.”

3 thoughts on “From couch to web: How Logan Booker made sports writing a “living”

  1. Ben Bolton

    Great to hear the back story of the infamous Logan Booker. I enjoyed it. It was a lot of information that I did not know. I may have liked a few more quotes, but I think the information you gave was awesome.

    Reply
  2. theshandacrowe

    I think this was really well-written and gives us a nice peek into Logan’s life that many may not have known of before. Other than a few copyediting errors, I think it was successful.

    Reply
  3. cpace2016

    I think this is a really cool story of how blogging led to an opportunity. Myself starting as a blogger (which really catapulted my interest in becoming a sports journalist), I can really appreciate this story and it’s cool to see. I think you chose the perfect quote to end it, that quote is one #BaylorWard reference from being almost exactly how I predicted an interview with Logan would go. Nice job Maria.

    Reply

Leave a reply

