Behind the Lens: Elizabeth Grimsley

We all need a get-away from our lives when things get to stressful, and the sports world provides that break for Elizabeth Grimsley. Elizabeth is a junior, journalism major at the University of Georgia. Ironically, neither of Elizabeth’s parents were huge sports fans. Her father, a Georgia Tech alum, never taught his daughter about sports or stressed its importance.
“If someone gave me Atlanta Falcons season tickets, I would not take them.” He said. How does someone whose family never mentions a deep interest in sports fall so deeply in love with it?
“I just remember waking up before school, and we would get the Atlanta Journal Constitution.” Elizabeth said. “I would read the sports’ section cover to cover; I would read the box scores and notes and all.” Elizabeth not only fell in love with the variety of stories in sports, but the journalists’ take on those stories as well.
Soon, Elizabeth would fall in love with one sport in particular, gymnastics. She became a standout gymnast, but she did express that she experienced stress. “Most of my life was gymnastics; I didn’t have time for much else” she stated. “Sports was my get-away from my hectic school-life and long gymnastic practices.”
Now, at the University of Georgia, Elizabeth expressed interest in a UGA tradition, football. “I used to think that football was a bunch of fat men running around jumping on each other.” This is a pretty good foundation to start with.
Her friends tried to explain to her about a few rules about the game from penalties to turnovers. Then, she attended her first UGA football game just a couple of years ago. After Elizabeth was able to overcome the confusion, she thoroughly enjoyed her first UGA football game.
“If it wasn’t a Georgia game with my friends in the student section, it would not have been the same experience. I would not have enjoyed it.”
Now, with her newfound love and knowledge for the game, she gave a BCS National Championship prediction. While she did not give a winner, she did give the two teams she thinks will make it. “I definitely think Alabama is overrated, but they are going to get there.” She continued. “You can’t deny their strengths. I would have to say them and Florida State right now.”
To think just a few years ago, she could not tell anyone what a holding call is. Now, she is giving championship predictions and majoring in journalism. The sports’ world claims another content victim, and Elizabeth is all too happy that she is now caught.
5 thoughts on “Behind the Lens: Elizabeth Grimsley

  1. jamiehannn

    Great profile! I love all the quotes you picked, very well written. Only criticism is the structure of the paragraphs.

    Reply
  2. theshandacrowe

    I think you did a great job connecting her unexpected love of sports with her career path. You have some copyediting mistakes though. I understand that your title comes from Elizabeth love of taking photos, but that is missing in your profile.

    Reply
  3. egrims

    I love how you chose to tell my story. It’s obviously weird reading about yourself, but I think you did a good job with it. A couple of structural things — making more paragraphs is easier on the eyes for readers. Also, read through your story after you finish to find things that don’t sound right and other grammatical mistakes you didn’t catch when first writing. While reading through, I found a couple of areas to be repetitive or confusing. However, overall I thought you did a good job!

    Reply
  4. nickvsuss

    This was a good job of including quotes and putting a hook on the writing that engaged the reader. It’s always interesting when you get to read about experiences in sports that aren’t necessarily mainstream, and it’s even better when you know the subject.

    Reply

Leave a reply

