Anna Tarullo Profile

Anna Tarullo grew up in the state of Kentucky, where fans love their college basketball. She played basketball throughout her childhood, but in high school she realized that her talents on the court were not going to take her to the next level. That is when Tarullo found her true potential to be a sports journalist.

“It always kind of surprised me that I spent more of my time watching basketball and reading basketball than the girls on the team,” Tarullo said.

Tarullo is a die-hard Kentucky fan from Louisville, Kentucky, something Tarullo says is more common than not. Her parents both attended Louisville, but Tarullo still supports the Kentucky Wildcats. She calls Kentucky’s 2012 Final Four victory over Louisville the best day of her life.

“I wanted so badly to excel on the court, but physically I wasn’t able to,” Tarullo said, “so I kind of worshipped those that could.”

The passion that Tarullo has for playing and watching the game of basketball is something that she will carry on to the next stage of her life. She wants to become a sports journalist so she can be around the culture of college basketball that she grew up with while getting paid to report on stories.

“I want to get a little love back to something I’ve given my life to,” Tarullo said.

While basketball is the sport that means the most to Tarullo, she said that she loves sports in general and would be willing to report on just about anything. She has had a few experiences covering football, in particular.

“Now I love covering football just as much as I love covering basketball,” Tarullo said.

Tarullo believes that she is going to have the best job in the world. She does not understand why anyone would want to do anything different with their lives. She can thank her Kentucky roots for giving her the love of basketball and for all sports.

The passion she had for the game when she was young has translated into a strong passion to excel in her profession and to be the best sports reporter she can be.

3 thoughts on “Anna Tarullo Profile

  1. Loni Gibson

    I think that you did a good job on this profile. However, I do wish that you would have quoted Anna a bit more. I thought it was really interesting that her love of sports stemmed from a school that almost has no connection to her family. I wish that I could’ve read why and how her love developed.

    Reply
  2. Anna Tarullo

    Great story! Only thing I would mention is that I wanted to be a sports journalist since age 10, and part of my passion developed from studying the game with my dad. Good just Justin!

    Reply
  3. jleber10

    I like this profile. I think you do a really good job of building her love of basketball. I would try to build the story by starting with a specific moment or event that describes her love of sports. I think putting that out first makes for a good lede into her story. Also, when leading into quotes, try to write it in a way that does not say exactly what she says in the quote. I think the transition between the end of the graf and the “love of covering football” quote is a little awkward. But overall, great work!

    Reply

Leave a reply

