The Colts Are Who We Thought They Were – Except Better

By: Melanie Watson

No one doubted that the Indianapolis Colts would be good this season, especially with Andrew Luck on their side. It was their defense in comparison to their schedule that was the cause of concern. Now it’s week six and the Colts have a 4-1 record. They won against two top NFL teams, the San Francisco 49ers and the Seattle Seahawks, and they’re currently sitting at the top of the AFC South. Although the Broncos are still the favorites in the AFC, the Colts are turning heads and setting themselves up to be a top contender in their conference.

Indianapolis still has some big games ahead of them on their schedule. They must face the San Diego Chargers this week before playing against their former quarterback, Peyton Manning, who’s having a record year by the way. They also have two meetings against their division rivals, the Houston Texans. The Texans are skidding right now so it will remain to be seen how much of a threat they’ll be. Regardless of their upcoming opponents, there isn’t anything extraordinary that the Colts will do to prepare.

Head coach Chuck Pagano’s tactic is simple. His message for the team is to stay humble and take things one week at a time. He reminds his team that “it’s a short ride from the penthouse to the outhouse” and has a team rule which mandates that victories cannot be celebrated for more than 24 hours. The team’s success lies in the way the Colts carry themselves and the state of mind surrounding the team.

During the off-season, it was Colts owner Jim Irsay who implied that the Colts would be contenders. He also said that he expected the defensive unit to become “the cornerstone’ of the franchise. Although the defense tends to allow other teams to move the ball a lot, they are very successful in tightening up once teams come into Colts territory. They’re not the best defense in the league but they’ve only allowed eight touchdowns this season.

Maybe Irsay’s words weren’t false hope after all. The Colts are shaping up to go farther than everyone’s expectations. The organization believes it and if they keep playing this way then everyone else will be forced to believe it too.

This entry was posted in Blogs, NFL-AFC and tagged on by .

About Miss__Melanie

Ever since I was in 6th grade I've aspired to become a sports journalist. I'm currently in college studying Journalism with an emphasis in Magazines. I love personal interest stories. I have a passion for finding out interesting things about entertainers/athletes and things that make them tick and sharing those interesting stories about them to the world. I root for athletes & stories more than teams. I also love music and feel that it complements my life. I create soundtracks for different times of my life and I highly respect artists and their creative processes. Interviews are my passion and I look to conduct several of them over the course of my life. My dream job is to be a publicist for athletes and entertainers because I love and respect them so much that I want everyone else to see them and love them the same way that I do.

2 thoughts on “The Colts Are Who We Thought They Were – Except Better

  1. jamiehannn

    I love that you had details that many not know about the Colts, for example, the 24-hour rule or the quote about the penthouse to the outhouse. Overall, I think it’s a good post. One thing though is to use further rather in farther. Farther refers to physical distance and further refers to figurative distance. Great job!

    Reply
  2. Ben Bolton

    I like the profile feel of this blog. The Colts are a very interesting team, especially with Manning still around in the league. I like the fact you talked about the defense, when most focus on Andrew Luck. The only mistake I saw is where that you need a ” at the end of the word cornerstone. Other than that, great job and good use of the hyperlinks.

    Reply

Leave a reply

